Alcohol Markers · Die Cutting Techniques · General Cards · Video Tutorial

Let’s Make a Card

Have you checked out this new stamp set Craftin Desert Divas just released? It is called Treasure Trolls and it is absolutely adorable! On a side note, not only do I love it, but so does my daughter, so I jumped at the opportunity to make a few cards for her to fill up my stash! You can watch the video tutorial below to see how I put together this bright and cheerful card from start to finish!

ENJOY!!



Using the Fancy Frame Die Set, I cut a large scalloped rectangle from white card stock, then I used the brand new Inside Scalloped Circle Die Set to cut a circle from the top center of the rectangle. To create a patterned paper look on the rectangle I used all the small gem stamps included in the brand new Treasure Trolls stamp set and Memento Tuxedo Black Dye Ink to stamp them repeatedly and randomly. I made sure to stamp some gems “hanging off” the sides of the scalloped rectangle as well as the circle cut out  to make it appear more like a true patterned paper. To color in the gems I used my alcohol markers, in rainbow order, to make it nice and bright and colorful!!

Finished Card 4

In order to stamp the troll image in exactly the right place onto my A2 white top folding card base, I inserted the card base into my MISTI and laid the scalloped rectangle along with the inside scalloped circle directly over the card base where I would adhere them later on. This way I could put the troll stamp and sentiment down onto the base and align them perfectly, pick them up with my MISTI and then stamp down with Memento ink. To color in my little troll image I used my alcohol markers.

Finished Card 3

To finish this card, it was time to start putting it all together! I first adhered a black scalloped circle die cut with glossy accents. Next, came the scalloped rectangle die cut with fun foam and double sided adhesive. Finally, I added a few Cotton Candy sequins scattered around the card for some extra shine, using glossy accents to secure them down.

Finished Card 1


 

I LOVE the way this card turned out. It is exactly my style CAS but so bright and colorful and my daughter will absolutely love it and picking off the sequins LOL!! I did mention in the video above, but in case you didn’t watch it, one of the great things about this set is there are no rules when it comes to coloring trolls! You can literally make them any color you want! If you do have trouble picking out colors though, a Google search will help you out!

 

If you are interested in any of the supplies I used on today’s card, you can find them all linked below! Thanks so much for stopping by and spending some time with me today!Happy Crafting!!


16252361_1284204744960522_8406657649565755032_o

Treasure Trolls Stamp Set

16299685_1284202578294072_1800731023187013889_o

Inside Scalloped Circles Dies

Fancy_Frame_Dies__07267.1439496600.500.750

Fancy Frame Dies

cotton_candy__13434.1450804549.1280.1280

Cotton Candy Sequins

ShowProductImage__66548Memento Tuxedo Black Dye Ink Pad

24532-1489-3ww-l

Dick Blick Studio Brush Markers – Set of 48

Misti_Original_Box_Front1

MISTI
P1849332PM1L__57409Big Shot

1189_28__38540Fun Foam
51i_FCgfdDL._SY300___43679

Adhesive

ShowProductImage__93281

Glossy Accents
ShowProductImage__72242Pick Me Up Tool

2 thoughts on “Let’s Make a Card

Leave a Reply

