Coloring · General Cards · Video Tutorial

Emboss Resist With Stencils

This is a VERY exciting month for Craftin Desert Divas!! There is an all new product releasing during September – A BRAND NEW 6X6 STENCIL!!!!! This stencil is called Halloween Scene and it is so incredibly cute and, this month, has a fabulous Halloween scene already built into it (hence the name)!!! Stencils have so many wonderful techniques you can use with them. You can trace the stencil and then color it in for a fabulous scene, dry emboss, add ink, paint, glitter, etc through the stencils, and so many more!!!! Today I wanted to share with you how I did a bit of emboss resist with this brand new stencils to create a fun, quick and easy background on my card today! Be sure and watch the full video tutorial below for all the details!!



Today, I am going to the let video above do all the explaining on how to go about doing this technique! It is super simple, but so much better explained through demonstration. I do want to mention a few of the supplies I used and give you a few alternatives that are options to use as well.

Finished Card 1

For my ink on embossing I used Versamark Ink and embossed with Black Twinkle Embossing Powder. There are so many fabulous alternative you can use here – Colored Pigment Inks with Clear EP, Clear EP and Versamark to keep your background white, Colored Embossing Powder or even a mix of embossing powder colors! The options here are literally endless. Also, I used Distress Inks to color in my white spaces, but any type of ink can be used here, other dye inks, pigment inks, etc. And finally, I did use my mini ink blending tool to apply the color, however, you can use any tool you have on hand – Fantastix, finger dobbers, or even your finger!!

Finished Card 3

For the rest of my card I used the stamps from the Frightfully Sweet stamp set from Craftin Desert Divas. It is brand new this month as well and fits perfectly with the theme of the stencils! I colored in the little vampire over on Instagram & Facebook if you want to check out how I did that!!

Finished Card 5


Over all this was a very simple technique, but it packs a punch on your card!!! I am in love with the way the background, and entire card turned out!! This new stencil from Craftin Desert Divas is high quality and can certainly take a beating and hold it’s fine detail!!!

If you are interested in the CDD products I used on my card I do have the names listed and some linked below. However, the new stamp set & stencil are not available quite yet, they will be added to the shop 9/8/17!!!! So mark your calendars!!! Thanks for stopping in today and Happy Crafting!!!


  • Craftin Desert Divas 6×6 Stencil – Halloween Scene
  • Frightfully Sweet Stamp Set

Fancy_Frame_Dies__07267.1439496600.500.750

Fancy Frame Dies

Leave a Reply

