Adding Tags to Your Cards — DigiStamps4Joy Challenge 121

I am here today to share the card I designed for the DigiStamps4Joy Challenge. This month’s twist was to add a tag. I LOVE this idea. I wanted to be sure that when I added my tag to my card, it was large enough for the recipient to tear off of the card and use again, on a gift or as a bookmark, whatever they wanted to use it on! This just gives all that hard work you’ve put into your card a little extra mileage!


Here’s the video tutorial


 



 

I started in Photoshop by creating two new 3×5 inch files. In one I typed out the verse and aligned it on the right hand side. In the other file I enlarged the Floweers & Butteflies Border digi stamp from DigiStamps4Joy and aligned it on the left hand side. I printed my verse off onto some vellum cardstock and my digi stamp onto some plain white cardstock  using my laser printer and then trimmed them both out.

I colored my image with some colored pencils and blended them out with Odorless Mineral Spirits. I also foiled my verse by running it through my laminator with Heidi Swapp Light Pink foil. Once I had both layers done, I used some washi tape to tape together the image and verse panels, making sure they were lined up properly. I then ran them through my Big Shot and rounded the tops of the tags with a Stampin Up Border Die. You could also use a circle die to round the top of your tag. While I had them taped together I also punched a hole in the top.

Also, while I had my Big Shot out I cranked through a woodgrain embossing folder with a piece of Papertrey Ink’s Autumn Rose cardstock that measured 4 x 5 1/4. I then used some double sided adhesive to tape the embossed cardstock onto an A2, top folding, white card base. I wanted to add a bit of glitz to this card so I cut down a piece of light pink glitter cardstock to measure 2 x 5 1/4, added some foam tape to the back of it and adhered it to the left side of the embossed panel.

Before I placed my tag on my card, I tied a bit of thin white ribbon to the top. I put some double sided adhesive on both sides of a small piece of fun foam, adhered it to the back of the tag and then placed the tag onto the card. This card needs to go through the mail smoothly, so I made sure the fun foam was bumped up against the glitter cardstock, but not on top of it. I really didn’t want too much dimension to this card.

To finish this card off, I simply tied my white ribbon into a small bow. Now the recipient can pull the tag off the card and use it for their own project, gift, or anything they want!


Supply List

DigiStamps4Joy Flower and Butterfly Border Stamp

Brother HL-2320D Black and White Laser Printer

Royal Sovereign 9 Inch Laminator

Heidi Swapp Mint & Light Pink Foil

Gamsol

Papertrey Ink Autumn Rose Cardstock

Lifestyle Crafts Woodgrain Embossing Folder


 

Here are a few more pictures of the finished card.


Don’t forget to head on over to the DigiStamps4Joy Blog and enter one of your cards in the monthly challenge. And if you want to ‘add a twist,’ put a tag on your card!

Thanks so much for looking!! Happy Crafting!!!

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star