Simply a Card #2

I have had the “Critters From The Past” set from Lawn Fawn for awhile now, but hadn’t had the chance to use it. I finally decided to break it and out and create a fun kid’s birthday card with it. It was such a fun card to make and really came together well! As usual there is a video to accompany this card and it is the second video in my “Simply a Card” series. Again, this series is all about the card. There is no talking, just cardmaking!

Here’s the video!



To start this card I used quite a few stamps from the set to stamp out and mask a scene. As usual I stamped the images I wanted in the front, masked them off, and then stamped the rest of the images. For all of my stamping I used black dye ink that was waterproof so I could watercolor my scene and also stamped onto watercolor paper.

Once I was happy with my scene I used a mixture of Distress Ink and Distress Markers to do all of my watercoloring. I didn’t go with “realistic” colors for my dinosaurs as this is a kid’s birthday card. I wanted to make it fun so I chose some fun colors! When my scene was finished I set it aside to dry and moved onto the sky.

I used a 4 1/4 X 5 1/2 inch piece of watercolor paper and heavily applied Salty Ocean and Peacock Feathers Distress Inks with mini ink blending tools. When I had saturated the paper with the ink I used a cloud border die to cut a another piece of watercolor paper to use as  stencil. I then used a baby wipe and the negative space of the cloud to remove some of the ink and create clouds in the sky.

dinosaur blog post 1

Now this panel was a little damp so I set it aside to dry and worked on my first watercolor panel. I trimmed or “fussy cut” all of the extra white around the top of the scene and left just the watercolor portion. To finish the panel off I ran a black marker around the cut edges for a finished look.

I didn’t quite know where to put my sentiment on this card, which is something I REALLY need to start thinking about beforehand LOL, but I thought I would try and make a sun to stamp it on. In order to make my sun I used a small circle die and the fishtail end of banners that I also die cut. I sponged Mustard Seed Distress Ink onto the circle die cut and Spiced Marmalade onto the fishtail ends. Finally to bring the “sun” together I attached the fishtail banners to the backside of the circle die cut with double sided adhesive.

dinosaur blog post 2

Once my sun was put together I pulled out the “Sentiment Sampler” stamp set from Paper Smooches and stamped the happy birthday sentiment onto the sun with black dye ink. After all that work it was finally time to start putting the card together.

First, I attached the cloud or sky panel to an A2 white top folding card base with double sided adhesive. Second, I put down my dinosaur scene watercolor panel using fun foam and double sided adhesive. I adhered it to the very bottom of the card base. Finally, the “sun” was adhered to the top left of the card base, again, using fun foam and double sided adhesive. I then trimmed off the excess sun that was hanging over the sides of the card base and called the card FINISHED!!

dinosaur blog post 3


This card was quite the process to make, but I think it was very much worth the effort! If you want to check out any of the supplies I used, they’re all linked below. Thanks so much for looking and happy crafting!!


Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star