Inlaid Die Cutting IN Stamping

I have been seeing this really cool technique around ALOT lately and really wanted to give it a try and share it with you all. I’m not really sure if this is the “proper” name for it, but it’s what I’m calling it, LOL! It really is quite self explanatory, you inlay die cutting in stamping you’ve already done. You add a bit of dimension to your die cut and it gives the some really cool shadows and interest to your die cut to make it stand out but at the same time looks like one stamped image. VERY COOL!! If you still need a bit of  clarification you can watch the video below!

Enjoy!



I started with a piece of white card stock, measuring 2 1/4″ x 5 1/2″, in my MISTI and centered the tallest house stamp from Ellen Hutson’s “Cozy Christmas” stamp set in the white panel. I stamped this image with some Ocean Tides ink from Papertrey Ink. Next, I lined up the smallest house stamp to the right and stamped it in Autumn Rose. Then, to the right of the ocean tides house I stamped the middle sized house in Smokey Shadow ink. I repeated the same pattern with the same inks, double stamping each image to get a darker and more crisp impression. All of the inks were from Papertrey Ink.

Once my white card stock panel was stamped I brought in my die cutting machine and cut out the word “Congratulations” using a die from Paper Smooches. I made sure this was nice and straight and centered as this was the focal point for my card. While I had my die cut machine out, using the same die and coordinating colors of cards stock with the ink, I die cut a “congratulations” from each color of paper.

blogpost2

I also created a mat for my stamped panel while I had my machine out. I cut a piece of black card stock to 3″ x 5 1/2″ and cut some faux stitching onto it using the “Stitched Borders” die set from Lawn Fawn. I had already cut my dies apart, as they do come connected, however I lined them up on my craft mat and taped them together with some painter’s tape. I could then place them as a group onto my card stock and cut them simultaneously to create a faux stitched background.

It was not time to do the inlaying. I first had to attach a piece of adhesive covered paper behind the white panel for something to attach the die cuts to. Then the first die cut to go in was the Ocean Tides “Congratulations” die cut. I also went ahead and put in the centers to the letters so I didn’t have to shimmy those in later. Next, using glossy accents and a brush I adhered the Smokey Shadow die cut, after was the Autumn Rose, and finally I could adhere down the congratulations that I die cut from the stamped panel.

blogpost3

At this point your white panel should look like one big piece again, however there should be some depth and dimension to your “Congratulations” so you can still tell it’s a word.

To put this card together I adhered the white die cut panel to the center of the black faux stitching panel using some double sided adhesive and fun foam. Then, I adhered the black panel to an A2 white top folding card base that was turned on it’s side, again, using double sided adhesive.

To finish this card off I put on a coat of glossy accents on the “Congratulations”, however, be sure to check how it affects your ink before you try this. After I let this dry and came back to photograph it, I noticed the glossy accents had made the inks bleed. I debated on redoing this card, but decided to have it be a word of  warning and learning experience LOL!!

blogpost1


The great thing about inlaying die cutting into stamping is that you can use supplies you already have! So no going and buying specialty products for this technique! I really hope you do give this a try!

That being said if you are curious about any of the products I used they are all linked below for your convenience!

Thanks so much for stopping by! Happy Crafting!!


Papertrey Mini Ink Cubes

Papertrey Ink Cardstock

  1. Autumn Rose
  2. Ocean Tides
  3. Smokey Shadow

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star