Creating a Stamped Background

When I received this new stamp set from Two Paper Divas called “Cool Treats” it was INSTANTLY a new favorite. Then, I seen the sentiment set that coordinates and my mind was blown! The Cool Treats set alone is awesome, but add in the sentiment set “Here’s The Scoop” and it is perfect for any occasion, and I’m really not exaggerating here! So please don’t be upset if you see this set a few times in the next few weeks, I can’t really get enough of it! LOL!! Also, if you haven’t yet, check out the new release from Two Paper Divas because they have once again hit it out of the park!!

Today though, I have a video for you showing how I created my own background/patterned paper with this set! ENJOY!!



To start these cards, and I say these because I created two cards today that are pretty much identical, I had two pieces of watercolor paper measuring 4 1/4″ x 5 1/2″ and I attached each one of the stamps from the “Cool Treats” stamp set to acrylic blocks. Using waterproof black dye ink I stamped these stamps to create a bit of a pattern on the background. I wasn’t careful with keeping a true “pattern” but made sure the stamps were kept either horizontal or vertical for a more graphic looking background. I started in the middle of the paper and worked my way toward the edges making sure to speed things along by stamping one stamp multiple times. Also make sure to stamp a few images that appear to be hanging off to truly resemble patterned paper.

Picture1

With my two panels stamped, using painter’s tape I attached them both to a hardboard panel to make it easier to watercolor both at the same time. I used my distress inks to watercolor and as usual my “homemade” palette, which is just a sheet of card stock that I laminated.  All of the specific colors I used are listed below in the supply list, but the best advice I can give to speed up this process is to color ALL of one object at the same time, for instance, everything was brown I colored in one go, everything that was pink was colored at the same time and so on. This really just help to keep color contamination down and also just speeds up the entire coloring process.

For the sentiments on these cards I used the brand new stamp set “Here’s the Scoop” which coordinates with the “Cool Treats” stamp set. I started by die cutting two circles from watercolor paper and then using the next step up sized circle die I cut two black circles that would be used as mats.

Picture2

I chose to use two different sentiments one being the favorite flavor sentiment and also the you’re so cool. I did end up cutting the You’re so cool sentiment so I could bring in the larger Cool! sentiment underneath. If you’re not comfortable cutting up your sentiments you can always do some masking with tape, I just find it easier to cut them up and piece them back together as I need them. I’ve forgotten to remove my masked that I’ve inked up one too many times! I did color in the ice cream cone and favorite flavor letters with some leftover watercolor that was still on my palette.

To put these cards together, I simply attached the watercolor panel to an A2 side folding white card base with double sided adhesive. I then attached the sentiment panels to their black circle mat with the same double sided adhesive and to add just a bit of dimension I added the sentiment circles to the middle of the card base with some foam tape.

Picture3


I hope you too will pull out some stamps and create a background or patterned paper of your own. It truly is such a fun way to use your stamps! And don’t forget to head over to Two Paper Divas and check out their entire new release!!

If you’re interested in any of the supplies that I used today, they’re all linked below for your convenience!!

Thanks so much for stopping by and looking! Happy Crafting!!


Two Paper Divas “Cool Treats” Stamp Set
Two Paper Divas “Here’s the Scoop” Stamp Set

5 replies to “Creating a Stamped Background

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star