Selective Stamping

About two months ago Two Paper Divas released the “Junk Food Alley” sentiment stamp set that has very “punny” sentiments included in it. I made a few cards already that feature that set, you can find those HERE and HERE. Today though I wanted to share with you another card that not only features the “Junk Food Alley” set, but also the brand new “Popcorn” set that coordinates with it! We all love us some popcorn in our house, so I have a feeling this particular image stamp will be used quite often! If you want to see how  I used both sets today for a bit of selective stamping, you can watch the video below!

ENJOY!!



First, I created three masks from Inkadinkado masking paper by simply stamping the popcorn image with black dye ink and then fussy cutting each one. I didn’t worry about the popcorn on the sides, I just focused on the bowls filled with popcorn. With each of my masks cut out it was time to start stamping the scene. I started with a white cardstock panel that measured 3 1/2″ x 5 1/2″ and using the same black dye ink, inked up my stamp. Now I didn’t want the popcorn that is outside the bowl to be stamped so in order to make sure it didn’t any ink on it, I covered it with a post it. You could also cover with masking tape, painter’s tape, or you can cut the portions of your stamp off. Now I don’t mind cutting my stamps (they’re really simple to just mount back together ), but because this didn’t have a lot of wiggle room for any mistakes I opted just to cover the part I didn’t want. When you’ve got your stamp inked up you can remove the mask and then stamp it down. (Watch the video tutorial above for more info!!) I finished masking off and stamping all of my popcorn and then used the “Get out and celebrate, lickety split” from the Junk Food Alley sentiment set to stamp Get out and celebrate” in the bottom right hand corner, using a bit more of the selective stamping technique.

finished-card-3

With my panel scene and sentiment stamped out, I started coloring in all of my images. I chose to use my colored pencils, blended out with a bit of odorless mineral spirits and blending stumps. This is such a fun way to color and I most definitely don’t pull my pencils out enough! When my coloring was complete I die cut a piece of orange cardstock on the edges with a wavy border die.

finished-card-1

Now that I had all of my components ready to go, it was time to start putting them all together. I first adhered my popcorn panel to the die cut wavy orange cardstock with double sided adhesive. Then, using double sided adhesive and fun foam I adhered the two panels to an A2 side folding white card base.

finished-card-2


Selective stamping is such an easy way to really stretch your stamps and get the most use out of them, especially with sentiments! I really hope my video tutorial was helpful and that you too will this selective stamping technique a try!

If you’re interested in any of the supplies I used on today’s card, you will find them all linked below. Thanks so much for stopping by today! Happy Crafting!!


Two Paper Divas – Popcorn Stamp Set

Two Paper Divas – Junk Food Alley Stamp Set

5 replies to “Selective Stamping

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star