Creating a Circle Card — Video Tutorial

I have a video tutorial for your today on how I created this circle card. I really wanted to create a scene, one of my favorite things to do, however, I wanted to give this card a little something more. I decided in order to do that I would make it into a circle instead of the standard A2 rectangle size card. I am featuring the Two Paper Divas On the Road Again Accessories Stamp Set, which really creates some beautiful scenes. (If you really want to use this set to its full potential, I highly encourage you to get the On the Road Again stamp set also.) Enjoy the video!


 


 

In order to create this card I first had to do some die cutting. I cut a circle from Canson watercolor paper which measured 3 1/2 inches. I then cut two plain white cardstock circles with a 4 3/8 inch circle. I also cut a frame from kraft circle by using both the large and smaller circle dies and nesting them inside one another.

Once all of my die cutting was done it was time to start masking out the scene on my watercolor circle. I had already stamped and trimmed out all of my masks I would need so I jumped right in and stamped the squirrel first. I knew I would be watercoloring this scene so I decided to heat emboss all of my images. In order to do this I used Versafine Onyx Black Ink and Ranger’s super fine detail clear embossing powder for all of my images. Before stamping each image, I also prepped my cardstock with my embossing bag. After my squirrel was done I masked him off and stamped the cactus to the left on him then masked it off and stamped another cactus to the left of the first. I stamped one last cactus to the far right of the card and moved on to my horizon line. For this I masked off all of my previous stamping and grabbed the snow cap for the top of the camper. I inked up only the top portion of the stamp and stamped it twice lining them up next to each other to create one long horizon line behind all of the images. Finally, I stamped the electric posts along the horizon line.

I then watercolored the entire scene using a mixture of Distress Inks and Distress Markers. the exact colors will be listed below.

For my sentiment I used the Two Paper Divas Banners #3 stamp set. I stamped the “Hello There” sentiment onto some scrap white cardstock, again in Versafine Onyx Black Ink, and then heat embossed with the super fine detail clear embossing powder. I then trimmed this sentiment down into a fishtail banner on both ends.

Once I had all of my card elements ready to go it was time to start putting them all together. I started by making the card base. I put a score mark in one of the large white cardstock circles and then flipped it around and cut off the bottom portion of the circle. This created a “base” for the card to rest when it was standing up. I then adhered the two large white circles together at the top, above the score mark, with some double sided adhesive. I then adhered my kraft frame and inlaid my watercolor panel inside. Finally, I popped up my sentiment banner with some foam tape and that completed the card.


Supply List


 


I hope you too will go and use your supplies to create a circle card! Thanks so much for looking! Happy Crafting!

 

4 replies to “Creating a Circle Card — Video Tutorial

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star