Double Die Cut Inlay

Die cut inlaying is such a fun technique. I love this technique so much I decided to inlay two die cuts and overlap them to create a double die cut inlay. If you want to check out how I did achieved this look, you can watch the video below!

ENJOY!!



To start this card I really wanted to stamp a chevron background for my die cuts, the only problem was, I have no chevron stamps. I do have a chevron border die though! I die cut a piece of fun foam with this die and was able to stamp it repeatedly on a piece of 3″ x 4″ white card stock with my MISTI and “putty” dye ink from Colorbox. I was  very impressed with how well this die actually stamped onto the paper.

When I was happy with my background I ran it through my die cut machine with a “Large Peony Outline” die from Memory Box. I also ran the die through with a piece of coral cardstock. I attached a piece of computer paper behind the empty space on my main panel, in order to have a surface to glue everything to. I started with the coral outline first and then started filling in all of the petals with the chevron die cut. I used some clear glue and my Quickstik tool to speed along the process.

Picture 2

After all of my pieces were inlaid I ran the panel through my die cutting machine again, this time with a “hello” word die from Papertrey Ink, that slightly overlapped my peony die cut inlay. I also ran the hello die through with a piece of black card stock. Once again I had to attach a piece of computer paper behind the open space on my panel, but this time I first covered it with double sided adhesive so it was much easier to adhere my black hello word die cut.

With all of my die cuts inlaid into my chevron panel, I mounted it onto a piece of black cardstock and then adhered the panel onto an A2 white top folding card base with some fun foam and double sided adhesive.

Picture 3


This is such a fun and easy technique that really gives your card a unique look! I hope you too will pull out a few dies and give this technique a try!

If you’re interested in any of the supplies I used on today’s card, they’re all linked below for your convenience! Thanks so much for stopping by today!! Happy Crafting!!


Papertrey Ink – Wonderful Words: Hello Die

Stampin’ Up! Calypso Coral Cardstock

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star