Layering Digital Stamps

Digistamps4Joy new challenge starts today and the twist this month is to add roses to your card. (The twist, as always, is optional!) There are so many great images in the shop with roses or you could simply add some rose die cuts! I chose to use the gorgeous Rose Trio digital stamp to do some stamp layering. Because all of the digis from DS4J come with both the Jpeg and the PNG, you can do stamp laying with literally the click of your mouse! To see how I made this card you can watch the video below!

ENJOY!!



As always my card started in Photoshop Elements with a 4.25″ x 5.5″ project. All you have to do is place you PNG image on your project as many times as you want and then play around with the placements and order on your card front. You have to use the PNG image when doing this or it won’t turn out right. This will give you a look like you’ve spent so much time masking off your images when in reality it takes about 5 minutes at the computer! Once you’re happy with your card front and the placement of all of your images you can print it off. I used my Brother laser printer, as usual, just make sure you use whatever of printer ink will work with your coloring medium of choice.

Finished Card 4

Once my card front was printed off I roughly trimmed it out, leaving a bit of an edge so I could tape it down to a hardboard for a nice smooth coloring surface. I then brought out my alcohol markers and chose a few muted tones for a more vintage look. It does take a bit of time to color in these images, to make sure you’re coloring the right petals and such, but isn’t impossible with a bit of effort and attention. I used peach, yellow and cream color for my roses, greens for the leaves and stems and then grays around all of the images to make them really pop off the card stock.

Finished Card 2

For my sentiment I used a very scripty “thanks” from a Simon Says Stamp Thanks stamp set. I used black dye ink  and my MISTI to stamp it in the lower right hand corner. I then attached the colored panel to an A2 yellow side folding card base with double sided adhesive. I then attached three small moonshine sequins with Glossy Accents and my Quikstick Tool. And finally I put on a layer of Clear Wink of Stella to all of the roses.

Finished Card 3


Layering your digital stamps for a masked look is such an easy way to really make a fabulous card that looks like you’ve spent hours creating. All it takes is a little playing around on the computer! And don’t forget if you try this with one of your digital stamps be sure to enter it into the challenge at Digistamps4Joy this month! There are two prizes, your choice of digital stamps from the shop & a $10 Gift Certificate to the shop, up for grabs!!

If you’re interested in any of the supplies I used on today’s card you can find them all linked below! Thanks so much for stopping by!! Happy Crafting!!


Digistamps4Joy “Rose Trio” Digital Stamp

Dick Blick Studio Brush Markers – Set of 48

Stampin’ Up! Daffodil Delight Cardstock

SSS Really Big Thanks Stamp & Die Set

SSS Black Dye Ink Pad

SSS Moonshine Sequins

 

3 replies to “Layering Digital Stamps

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star