Adding Texture to a CAS Card

Keeping with the CAS theme I’ve been on lately, I decided today to share with you two different ways I added texture to a CAS teacher appreciation card I made. Now that my kiddo is back in school, it’s back to reminding those teacher’s just how much we appreciate all of their hard work! Whether it’s a card with a handwritten message inside or you decide to add a little baked good or small gift with it, it’s always nice to send a little something to brighten their day every once in awhile! You can check out my video below to see the two different ways I added a bit of texture to spice up my CAS card!

ENJOY!!



Starting with an A2 sized white cardstock panel, 4.25″ x 5.5″, and the “Little Schoolhouse” stamp set from Taylored Expressions I started stamping out a scene using my MISTI. (The stamp I used is no longer available, but I will link a few similar stamp sets below.) I began with the schoolhouse image and stamped it in the top center of the panel with Memento Tuxedo Black Ink. After masking off the schoolhouse I stamped the tree image on both sides, again using the same ink. I pulled my panel out of the MISTI and with an acrylic block I stamped the sentiment “you are appreciated” underneath the schoolhouse image, making sure it was centered on the panel. To add a horizon line to my scene I pulled out my Micron pen and T square ruler to make sure it was nice and straight.

Finished Card 2

I used my alcohol markers to color in all of my images. All of the colors were kept very traditional and I carried the same colors across the entire scene for a cohesive look. To add a bit of texture to the scene using my alcohol markers I first colored in my trees with a very light green. Then, using two darker shades of green I added dots in the shape of leaves by pushing the tip of my marker down. The shape of the tip, when pushed down on the side, allows for these great oval shapes which look a lot like leaves. Once I had quite a few of these shapes in the darker shades I came back in with my lighter green, very sparingly, to blend the “leaves” just a bit. I also added shadows under my schoolhouse and trees which also add a lot of texture to my scene.

Finished Card 4

After adhering my colored panel onto an A2 white, top folding card base, I decided I still didn’t have enough texture on my card. So, I pulled out my cloud dies from Taylored Expressions and ran them through my die cutting machine with white felt. I adhered these little felt clouds with double sided adhesive  on both sides of the top of the schoolhouse. I kept this card very CAS and really just focused on the coloring and the felt to add enough interest to this card.

Finished Card 3


I really hope that you too will add a bit of texture to your next CAS card! Just a few dots from your alcohol markers or a bit of felt really helps add so much interest to a simple card design.

If you’re interested in any of the supplies I used on today’s card, you can find them all linked below. Thanks so much for stopping by today! Happy Crafting!!


** The Little Schoolhouse Stamp Set from Taylored Expressions is no longer available, and I couldn’t find anything similar with a school them, so below I’ve linked a few sets that would be perfect for adding texture to! **

Dick Blick Studio Brush Markers – Set of 48

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star