Masking a Shaped Border

If you haven’t heard, Two Paper Divas is closing their store, you can read their blog post HERE. I have to say a HUGE thank you to the both of them for making one of my first experience on a design team such a great one. From this point they will have everything in their store at an incredible 25% off, so make sure you scoop up all the stamps you’ve had your eye on. I look forward to finishing out the year with them and continuing to continue reading their blog and keeping up with all their new adventures! Today, I want to use one of their latest releases “My Neighborhood 2” to create a fun and easy shaped card with a masked white border. This set coordinates perfectly with the “My Neighborhood” stamp set, and what a better time to buy them both, then when they’re 25% off? You can watch the video below for the full tutorial on today’s card!

ENJOY!!



I first needed to create a shaped card, so I very quickly folded piece of cardstock in half and put it into my die cutting machine with a circle die handing off the folded edge. I also ran the same circle die through with another sheet of white cardstock to cut just a plain white circle and again I ran it through, this time with a smaller circle die nested inside to create a frame. On the plain white circle I stamped the more square house directly in the top center with Memento Tuxedo Black Ink and underneath I stamped the sentiment “Congratulations on your new home.” with the same ink. I also quickly stamped the house image onto a scrap piece of cardstock so I could fussy cut it to create a mask.

finished-card-4

To color in my image I used my alcohol markers and did absolutely no shading or blending, I used one color for each “section”. This is a great place to really personalize this card. You can color the house to match the recipients new home or if you’re using the we’ve moved sentiment, color it to match your new home! With my image colored in I quickly masked it by applying a thin layer of rubber cement to the back of my mask and laying it over the stamped image. I also put down my white frame I had die cut, again by applying a thin layer of rubber cement on the back. With all of my masks in place, I used Distress Inks and my mini ink blending tool to quickly sponge on a bit of a scene (a hill and sky) using Peacock Feathers and Crushed Olive.  When I was happy with the intensity of my colors I pulled off my masks to reveal a gorgeous scene with a nice crisp white border around it.

finished-card-1

Finally, I could put my card together. There really wasn’t a lot to do other than attach the circle panel to the front of my card base with double sided adhesive. You do want to make sure you attach the panel carefully so it’s nice and straight. The last, but maybe the most important step, is to cut off the bottom of the back panel of the card base. If your recipient tries to stand up the card, and you haven’t cut off a bit on the back, it will just roll around and never stand straight or still.

finished-card-2


I love creating shaped cards. They give a certain amount of “awe” when the recipient opens them and are just something different. I especially love that I now have a way to add a nice border to them without adding to bulk and keeping it, essentially, a one layer card.

If you’re interested in any of the supplies I used on today’s card, you can find them all linked below. Thanks so much for stopping by! Happy Crafting!!


4 replies to “Masking a Shaped Border

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star