Adding Texture & Dimension with Die Cuts

It is the very first day of July and that means there’s a new challenge at Digistamps4Joy! As always it is an Anything Goes challenge with an OPTIONAL twist of adding die cuts or punches. And if you link up a card of your own there’s a chance of winning one of two great prizes, a $10 gift voucher to the DS4J store or two digital stamps of your choice!

As I was making my card I wanted to add a bit of texture to my card and it turned out die cuts were the perfect way to do so! Here’s the video showing you how I added texture and dimension to my card with a few simple die cuts!

ENJOY!!



For today’s card I used the Cottage Teapot Digital Stamp. I brought it into a Photoshop Elements project that was 4″ x 4″ and resized it to fit the panel with a bit of wiggle room around the edges. I then printed it off with my laser printer, making sure to print with crop marks and then trimmed out the panel.

With my panel printed and trimmed I started coloring the image in with my alcohol markers. I used just a few colors on each section and used really muted colors for a more vintage feel. I also colored in a sky and some grass for a completed scene.

Picture 1

Once I was happy with all of my coloring I started my die cutting. I first used to small cloud die cuts and  cut a piece of white felt. I used the cheap felt you can find at your local craft store and ran it through my machine twice. It came out a completely clean cut! I then used my “Hello” word die and die cut six hellos from white cardstock.

I wanted to create some dimension on my card and so I decided to adhere those five “hello” die cuts together to create a larger, more dimensional look. I used glossy accents to adhere one on top of the other.

Picture 2

To put this card together I first adhered my teapot panel to a 4.25″ x 4.25″ white top folding card base using fun foam and double sided adhesive. I then used foam adhesive to adhere the felt clouds for some fun texture on my card. Finally, I adhered the hello die cut pieces with more glossy accents. And to top off the entire card I completely coated the “hello” word with Wink of Stella.

Picture 3


Don’t forget to head over to the Digistamps4Joy Challenge page and enter one of your cards! The challenge is open until the end of the month, so plenty of time to link up one of your cards! Remember, the optional twist is to add either die cuts or punches, so I hope you will use this tutorial and add some texture and dimension to your cards with die cuts!

If you’re interested in any of the supplies I used on today’s card, they are linked below! Thank you so much for stopping by today!! Happy Crafting!!



 

One reply to “Adding Texture & Dimension with Die Cuts

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

close-alt close collapse comment ellipsis expand gallery heart lock menu next pinned previous reply search share star